Checked October 25, 2026

Step challenge apps compared

Picking an app for a step challenge with friends, family or coworkers? Here is what six apps say about free private challenges, teams, group size and devices.

OutPace wrote this page, and OutPace is one of the apps below. Every other app's details come from its own website, help center or App Store listing on October 25, 2026, linked under each app. Where an app's site does not say, we say so instead of guessing. Spot something out of date? Email contact@outpace.fit and we will fix it.

The apps

OutPaceThis is us

Free private group challenge
Yes. Creating and joining challenges is free, with no credit card.
Team vs team
Yes, free. The challenge creator splits it into two or more teams.
Group size
A new challenge holds 20 people. You can request more spots.
Phones and watches
Apple Health, Health Connect, Garmin and more. No manual step logging.
Platforms
iPhone, Android and the web.
Weekly team challenge anyone can join
Yes. The Weekly Relay is a free team challenge every Monday through Sunday that anyone with an account can join.

Sources: About OutPace, Workplace challenges

StepUp

Free private group challenge
Yes. Its site says the app is completely free, with ads that can be removed by an in-app purchase.
Team vs team
Its site says it does not currently show group vs group leaderboards directly.
Group size
Private groups from a few friends up to 15,000 people, per its site.
Phones and watches
Phone step counting, Apple Health, Health Connect, and direct sync with Fitbit, Garmin and Samsung.
Platforms
iPhone and Android.
Weekly team challenge anyone can join
Groups get daily, weekly and monthly leaderboards. A weekly team challenge open to anyone is not stated on its site.

Sources: thestepupapp.com, App Store listing

Pacer

Free private group challenge
Yes. Its site says there is no paywall between you and your group challenge. Premium features are optional in-app purchases.
Team vs team
Yes. Its site says free challenges can split into teams and play team vs team.
Group size
Not stated on its site
Phones and watches
Phone step counting, Apple Health, Health Connect, Apple Watch, Fitbit, Garmin and Samsung Health.
Platforms
iPhone and Android.
Weekly team challenge anyone can join
Not stated on its site

Sources: Free step challenge app, App Store listing

Stridekick

Free private group challenge
Public challenges are free, up to 7 days long. Private challenges need a paid plan.
Team vs team
Team Mode is on its Unlimited plan, per its pricing page.
Group size
Free public challenges hold 10 participants. Paid plans hold more.
Phones and watches
Apple Health, Health Connect, Apple Watch, Fitbit, Garmin, Withings and more, per its help center.
Platforms
iPhone and Android.
Weekly team challenge anyone can join
Monthly challenges open to everyone, per its help center. A team format is not stated.

Sources: Pricing, Help center

StepsApp

Free private group challenge
Yes. Its challenges page says challenges are completely free to create and join. PRO is a paid upgrade.
Team vs team
It lists Team Challenges. How teams are scored is not stated on its site.
Group size
Not stated on its site
Phones and watches
Apple Health, Google Fit, Fitbit, Garmin and other tracking sources, per its site.
Platforms
iPhone and Android.
Weekly team challenge anyone can join
Not stated on its site

Sources: steps.app, Challenges

StepRacers

Free private group challenge
Your first race is free, with one team of up to 10 people, per its site. More needs a paid plan.
Team vs team
Team races are on its paid plans.
Group size
Up to 10 people on the free race.
Phones and watches
Apple Health or Health Connect. Watches reach it through those.
Platforms
iPhone and Android, plus a web dashboard for organizers.
Weekly team challenge anyone can join
It mentions weekly leagues. Whether anyone can join, and in teams, is not stated.

Sources: stepracers.com, App Store listing

Running it for a company?

These programs are built for employers, with admin tools and their own pricing.

  • OutPace Orgs

    A limited pilot. Email contact@outpace.fit. Coworkers can also run a free team challenge in the regular app.

  • Pacer for Teams

    Self serve with a monthly price by participant count and a free trial, per its site. Contact sales over 1,000 people.

  • Stridekick for companies

    In-app plans up to 50 people; a custom quote above that, per its pricing page.

  • StepRacers

    Self serve monthly plans by group size, with a demo for larger groups, per its site.

  • YuMuuv

    Sold to employers, with a pricing calculator and demo booking, per its site.

  • Wellbeing+ by Reward Gateway

    Formerly MoveSpring, acquired by Reward Gateway in March 2023. Sold through a demo.

Quick answers

Which apps let friends run a free private step challenge?
OutPace, StepUp, Pacer and StepsApp say private group challenges are free. StepRacers gives one free race for up to 10 people, and Stridekick keeps free challenges public.
Which apps do free team vs team challenges?
OutPace and Pacer. On Stridekick and StepRacers teams are on paid plans, and StepUp says it does not show group vs group leaderboards directly.
Which is best for a very large public group?
StepUp says its private groups go up to 15,000 people. A new OutPace challenge holds 20 people, and you can request more spots.
Is there a weekly team challenge anyone can join?
OutPace runs the Weekly Relay, a free team challenge every Monday through Sunday. None of the other apps here states one on its site.
When was this checked?
October 25, 2026, from each app's own website, help center or App Store listing. Apps change, so check their sites before you decide.

Want to try OutPace?

Sign up free, create a private challenge and share one link.

Start a challenge